Inaugural meeting of the Scientific Advisory Committee


The Scientific Advisory Committee of the Parliamentary Budget Office (PBO) held its inaugural meeting today.

Provided for in the law establishing the PBO, the Committee is composed of members from government, academia and research selected on the basis of their proven expertise in the various sectors of the PBO’s activities, notably economics and public finance at the national and international levels.


The Committee is tasked with providing methodological guidance for the PBO’s activities, in particular the identification of possible areas for analysis and research and the provision of scientific support for specific technical areas and issues. It may meet in plenary session or operate through smaller working groups on specific issues.


The Committee’s first meeting addressed the general lines of its activity and research in 2017, as well as conducting a methodological assessment of the validation process for official macroeconomic forecasts.


The following is a full list of the Committee members:

Giampaolo Arachi (Università del Salento); Fabrizio Balassone (Banca d’Italia); Pierpaolo Benigno (Università Luiss Guido Carli di Roma); Andrea Boitani (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore di Milano); Giuseppe Carone (European Commission); Paolo De Ioanna (Consigliere di Stato); Jean-Paul Fitoussi (Institut d’Etudes Politiques di Parigi e Observatoire Français des Conjonctures Econoniques); Piero Giarda (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore di Milano); Enrico Giovannini (Università di Roma Tor Vergata); Roberto Golinelli (Università di Bologna); Daniel Gros (Centre for European Policy Studies); Alberto Majocchi (Istituto Universitario di Studi Superiori di Pavia); Mariana Mazzucato (University of Sussex); Paolo Onofri (Prometeia); Alessandro Petretto (Università di Firenze); Gustavo Piga (Università di Roma Tor Vergata); Linda Laura Sabbadini (Istat); Stefano Siviero (Banca d’Italia); Guido Tabellini (Università Luigi Bocconi di Milano); Teresa Ter-Minassian (formerly International Monetary Fund).